Monday, 12 March 2018

Ted Hughes Award Shortlisting (& Submissions)

V. Press is very very pleased to share the news that Antony Owen's The Nagasaki Elder has been shortlisted for the 2017 Ted Hughes Award, judged by Gillian Allnutt, Sally Beamish and Lemn Sissay.

The Ted Hughes Award for New Work in Poetry seeks to recognise excellence in poetry, highlighting outstanding contributions made by poets to our cultural life. The £5,000 prize is donated by Carol Ann Duffy, funded from the annual honorarium the Poet Laureate traditionally receives from HM The Queen.

This year's award shortlist of seven poets/works features:

Jay Bernard for Surge: Side A (Speaking Volumes)
Caroline Bird for In These Days of Prohibition (Carcanet)
Kayo Chingonyi for Kumukanda (Chatto)
Inua Ellams for #afterhours (Nine Arches Press)
Matthew Francis for The Mabinogi (Faber & Faber)
Antony Owen for The Nagasaki Elder (V Press)
Greta Stoddart for Who’s There? (BBC)

Antony Owen's work is described by The Poetry Society as: 'A harrowing collection responding to a journey through bombed cities of Japan and drawing on accounts of survivors.
From the judges: “shocking to read, but at the same time strangely beautiful and gentle... relevant to our times, hardhitting, and brilliantly written”.'

V. Press's very very big congratulations to Antony for his shortlisting in this important award. The winner will be announced at the Ted Hughes Award & National Poetry Competition awards ceremony held this year on 28th March 2018.

More information about the award can be found on The Poetry Society website here, along with a sample poem from The Nagasaki Elder.

For a different sample poem, to find out more about The Nagasaki Elder or order a copy of the collection, please follow this link.


To celebrate Antony's success, we're also delighted to give advance notice of our 2018 new submissions windows.  This year V. Press will have three different submissions windows: poetry (April/May), flash fiction (July) and guest editors (April). Full submissions guidelines and details can be found here, please do read and follow them carefully. Thank you.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.